CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Advise about burnt out plug between stator and RR

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2019, 05:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Advise about burnt out plug between stator and RR

Hi everyone!

Once again I hope to get some tips or advise from you guys. Any help is appreciated!

The other day I was working on my bike to get it's oil and filter changed. When idling I noticed a cable glowing orange and the smell of plastic burning. That cable was located underneath my seat near the battery box. I switched the bike off, took off the tank and seat and found out a plug had burnt out. It was a plug connecting the 3 yellow phase cables from the stator to the plug of the RR. Picture:

I have limited knowledge of electronics but equipped with my multimeter and my Haynes manual I checked the resistance between the yellow cables (that run to the stator) and that all measured out around 0.3ohm each. Then I checked each phase for resistance against ground. That was OL (out of limits). If I understand correctly this means my stator is not grounded and is fine.

Next I measured the resistance of the connections in the RR and got 'OL' on all connections. According to Haynes this means it's fried, so I ordered a new one. Now I could not use the plugs anymore so I had to cut them off and strip the cables to a point where they were not melted. I then connected them like this:

I know it's not ideal but it's what I had at hand at the moment. I then insulated them with insulation tape to protect it against moisture. I don't know a lot about electronics and I now wonder if connecting the cables this way might cause higher resistance and cause problems again. So maybe I should do it over and solder it instead? Hopefully you can tell me if I'm okay like this .

New RR should arrive tomorrow. To check if it works I can just measure the voltage of the battery when engine is running right? If it's 13-14ish that means everything is working fine ?