CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

98 CBR F3 mods?

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2011, 04:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 CBR F3 mods?

Im new to Cbr Forum but it seemed to be a good place to talk about my bike and get advice from knowledgeable people. I got a fully stock 98 honda cbr f3 and i was wondering what (fairly cheap) mods i could do to improve my performance/acceleration. Such as a bigger rear sprocket or a air filter? any advice is much appreciated!

Old 01-20-2011, 05:21 PM

What's your price range? there aren't many cheap mods that will give you a bang for your buck... full exhaust system will help you save on weight, k&n filter actually takes away hp because it restrics airflow, sprocket/chain upgrade depending what route you'll take will give you either more top end or faster pickup....

Old 01-20-2011, 05:30 PM

K&N does yield any gains? I thought it was a better filter?

Old 01-20-2011, 05:40 PM

nope you'll actually lose a hp or 2... it restricts airflow to the engine... there's a few people on race forums that have done dynos with and without and with stock the bike performs better.

Old 01-21-2011, 12:18 AM

My price range would be around 1-200 tops if its REALLY worth it, how much does a bigger sprocket give my hp?

Old 01-21-2011, 12:38 AM

Do some research man, it's easy to click the search button and type it in... cant be spoon fed unfortunately.

Old 01-21-2011, 01:19 AM

No hp just makes it feel like u have more -1 in the front is a good start

Old 01-21-2011, 01:44 AM

I have a 98 F3, I would recommend the -1 front sprocket and change your oil... LOTS!

The F3 was and still is a Great bike! I have chased down liter bikes and middle weights on my F3 while one of the carbs was stuck closed. I really don't think you need a boost in power, a bit snappier is nice and the -1 tooth in the front did that for me.

How is your idle? is it rough? does it run like crap when it is at low RPM? Does it sputter around 7 or 8k?