CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

Is it worth fixing up an F2?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009, 11:42 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it worth fixing up an F2?

Hey all... just gathering opinions out there, as I'm indecisive about this.

So I've solved my misfiring dilemma and after some basic tune-ups, my 94' F2 that I bought last month for $1600 is running nice, smooth, and strong. However, when I bought it, it only had the upper fairing and I didn't know anything about tires.

Well, now that I've been riding around with the bike, it feels weird that there's only an upper fairing on the bike and I see all these R6's and RR's around. They look beautiful and I'm starting to WANT one of those bikes. However, I've only been riding for only 1 month....a complete novice...and i'm not sure if those bikes are tremendously different and difficult to handle for a novice.

So I'm thinking of buying new tires, changing the worn out seat for a corbin seat, and buying a completely full set of fairings for the bike.

Is it worth doing all that to an F2 or should I just put it towards like an 01-03 F4i or even a different brand, yet more modern motorcycle? I've already spent money getting the engine tuned up + I just bought a new signal relay.

Last edited by EHUnlucky7x9; 07-30-2009 at 11:44 AM.
Old 07-30-2009, 12:05 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

If your bike isn't in nice shape, it's probably not worth it.

The F2's are classics, but they will never be an RR.

Old 07-30-2009, 12:20 PM

Totally depends on what you want to do. If you just want something cheap to cruise around with, then stick with the F2 and find used fairings on ebay and paint them... if you can't paint, ship them to me, I'll do it. :P