CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

will rain hurt anything under fairings?

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2007, 05:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default will rain hurt anything under fairings?

OK so im new to the mechanics of these bikes, and Im purchasing a '93 F2 with about 20k miles. The bike itself seems to be fine mechanically, but it has obviously been dropped several times, the fairings are beat to **** on one side (minimal metal damage).

My concern is, whoever owned the bike originally replaced the fairings with a mismatched set, so they dont quite fit on the bike correctly leaving odd little gaps and spaces. For example, the windshield only meets with the fairing on about 2/3 of each side, and there is a gap between the seat and the tail. I plan on riding this rain/shine, so I was wondering if these gaps which will probably allow a decent amount of water under the fairings will cause any damage to internals. I know with my corvette there was no spraying down the engine compartment because of touchy electronics, is there anything similar here?

Old 09-30-2007, 06:13 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: will rain hurt anything under fairings?

In a nutshell....NO! There really shouldn't be any harm as electrical is covered and sealed....BUT, being fifteen years old and the previous owner seems to have M-I-C-K-E-Y M-O-U-S-E'd things together, it's hard to tell what kind of wear and tear has occured...
RB

Old 09-30-2007, 06:25 PM

Well good! (I think electrical is ok, but Ill double check to make sure.)

Its got some other odd features. such as a place in the center of the radiator where it looks like there is a bunch of melted metal, almost like someone tried to weld something there.