CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

new to f2

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2010, 08:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to f2

well im new to bikes in general. just picked up a 92 f2. looks like is was taken care of mechanically. no leakes, runs great. my question is more for suspension. what can i do about the front forks? rebuild with f3 per the sticky or what swaps in? also the swing arm. anything swapable? what size rim can i fit in there? what size tire can i fit on stock rim or am i stuck with the 160/60? thanks

Old 03-07-2010, 08:10 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Welcome, the F2 is a great bike.

For the suspension, if you're just using the bike for street riding get the proper spring rate for your weight from RaceTech, and if you really want to, you can upgrade the valving.

The F3 fork internals sticky I made is confusing, I should probably delete it as I am unsure of what works I was just taking information from what Ken Johnson could tell me.

I would leave your swingarm and rear wheel alone, the geometry of the bike was designed to work with a 160 tire and having ridden the **** off of my bike with the 160 in the rear I can confidently say it doesn't need much improvement.

Instead of playing with tire sizes, I recommend brake upgrades.

Swap the rubber lines for braided steel, and change the front lines from a split line to 2 individual lines from the master, with a double banjo bolt.

EBC has big brake kits if you want to spend the dough, it's a nice improvement.

Old 03-07-2010, 08:39 PM

oh snap. thanks for the response. very informative. since i wont be playing with size now, what are some good sticky tires? i was looking at the bridgestone battlax bt016

oh, and since f2 parts seem to be scarce, will most of the parts from the f3 swap over? like alternators, R/R, ect.

Old 03-07-2010, 09:27 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post