CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

How bad is this? (w/Pictures)

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2009, 12:34 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How bad is this? (w/Pictures)

Hello all!
1st post, whew!

Anyway, I've got a long story, and I'm going to try to make it as short as possible and not miss any of the highlights.

1.) Got an F2 CBR from a friend of a friend at a damn near free price.
2.) Price was low because the bike never started in front of me. It would only crank.
3.) One year goes by before I get the will to seriously go out and mess with it.
4.) Bike no longer cranks after 1yr. Yes, new battery... Let me finish. It wouldn't even turn the motor with the bike in gear and good forcefull pushing, pulling, cursing, etc.
5.) After some trouble-shooting, I notice this. . .

Now how bad is this really? New engine bad? Or could a shop weld that back together at a reasonable price with no problems? This is my first bike, so I am new to all of this; but I do know to tool around for myself.

If you're wondering, no, I've never let the bike down. Previous owner has... on both sides. But he swears he wasn't moving before it went down. Fairings prove it's seen cement. The crack can be seen on the outside of the crank case cover. It's pretty small and hardly noticeable. I didn't notice it when I first purchased the bike, but I know it was caused by the previous owner.

So, bottom line; Should I just go ahead an replace the motor? Or is this motor worth salvaging? If nothing else is wrong, would fixing this problem be cheaper than buying another engine?

For what it's worth, the motor does turn now.

Thanks for looking!

Old 07-02-2009, 01:02 AM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

It's bad, the cover can be replaced but you will not be able to repair the block for the starter gear pin to seat properly.

BTW, the starter gear is in backwards, the smaller diameter gear with large teeth is supposed to face the cover.