CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   CBR 600F2 (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-600f2-16/)
-   -   Head gasket - use sealant ? (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-600f2-16/head-gasket-use-sealant-151380/)

JamieDenny 03-30-2014 04:28 AM

Head gasket - use sealant ?

Hi Guys,

I have been advised by a "professional" to use sealant or even normal household paint to seal the new headgasket onto the block and head. The manual doesn't show anything other than to use the new gasket which is actually three layers (two carbon looking with a metal sheet in the middle) so i am not 100% convinced on his advice.

Has anyone replaced the head gasket with or without sealant ?, as always your wisdom is welcomed.

Thanks

gtcole 03-30-2014 05:41 AM

I have never replaced the head gasket on a bike, but , being a mechanic by trade, I have replaced plenty on cars trucks, tractors and boats. That being said, I have NEVER used any sealant on a head gasket. They have all installed dry. That is what most are multi layer. To dealwith the different expansion rates of a block versus the head. If it your in doubt, default to the manual. But sealing a head gasket just sounds off to me. I've never done it and never will. Just my .02 cents

74demon 03-30-2014 09:43 AM

I'm also a professional. Metal headgaskets can be put on dry provided both surfaces are resurfaced true. If one or both are being cleaned and reused there is a chance that fluids can leak by way of imperfections of the surface. I use copper coat spray on both surfaces and the gasket to help seal it and help hold it in place while putting the head on. Using tacky paint may do the same in a pinch, but seems kinda ghetto on such a crucial area.

Optimus_Prime 03-30-2014 11:36 AM