CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

92 Starting, running problems. Hope to fix it myself

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2008, 01:58 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 92 Starting, running problems. Hope to fix it myself

Hey there

Let me start off by saying that i have combed the forums and found people with similar symptoms as i am having, but my situation still seems unique.

second, the service manual isnt helping a whole bunch.

Also, i am a newbie. i am 17 and this is my first street bike, but i am working with my dad who is an auto mechanic as a hobby. he doesnt have any experience with bikes, just an understanding of engines

ok so i purchased this 92 f2 about a month ago. couldnt ride it for the first few weeks until i got my permit so really ive been riding it for 2 weeks

It ran great at high and low rpms except for a rattle, which i believe is the CCT as i have read from other posts. i havent done anything about it yet

now for my issue
It was a work day and it made the 45 minute total commute fine. an hour after i got home i left again. After being about a mile away, it seemed to be lacking power and laggy but sounded normal. about another half mile I got to a stop light and pulled in the clutch and it died. i couldnt get it started with pet petcock on on or reserve, and i tried to bump start it on the hill is was on, to no success. so i call my friend to come pick me up with my bike and once i got it home, i was able to get it started with the choke on. now it sounded very bad, skipping out. it sounded like it was missing on 2 cylinders

i checked the ignition coils with an ohm meter, they passed flawlessly. next i checked for spark, which ensures spark plug and cable functionality. also fine, although the spark seemed weak. one plug smelled strongly of gas, but still sparked when we tested it