CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

Thermostat @ H when going over 50mph?

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2006, 12:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thermostat @ H when going over 50mph?

1987 Honda 600F Hurricane, just got carb cleaned, new fork seals, new brakes done....

When I left the repair shop, test rode it around the neighborhood, runs great like new! But... When I hit the highway going 50+ mph, my Thermostat needle jumped from near the C right over to the border line of the H,

When I finally got home, checked for any leaks, there were none, but can smell some antifreeze and very little smoke came from the bike.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Old 04-15-2006, 12:55 PM
Default RE: Thermostat @ H when going over 50mph?

Well Im really new to the motorcycle world so I cant tell you for sure, but knowing things about cars, I would say you have a leak. If you can smell antifreeze its coming out somewhere. If your 100% sure its not a leak, make sure the thermostat works properly. If it's neither of those, I would take it in and have it checked out. Better to be safe than to have to buy a new engine cause you over-heated and blew yours.

Old 04-15-2006, 06:28 PM

If you have or know someone who has a temp gun shoot the engine to see what the temp is. If its under 180 or close to that after running your guage or sending unit could be bad. Im not a bike tech but know how guages work and if it was overheating the guage would climb at a slow steady rate and it should happen after minutes of idling also. Smelling antifreeze is not good though.

Old 04-19-2006, 12:42 PM