CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

Mirror questions..

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2009, 06:14 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mirror questions..

Hi Guys,

well i'm a noob.. to the forum, and biking really.. had a bad accident way back in '88 lol and started again last year so am learning in many ways..

Anyways... for my first big bike i got myself my childhood dream of a CBR600F :-) its an '88 pearl white and red. The condition isn't too bad.. has a few scrapes on the sides/fairings and a dent on the slip on.
I might get round to sorting out the fairings if i dare take on the paint job.. but i've a couple of questions regarding the mirrors if anyone can shed any light on them.

Originally one of the mirror had been snapped off at the "swing" point, i never noticed that it was just cobbled back together.. but after being adjusted a few times the poor repair gave in.. so i got a couple of replacement mirrors from ebay.. (Red mirrors white boots).

I want to spray them white as my original mirror were... but how do you get the mirror off the boot and how does the mirror itself come out of the housing? i can see its fastened to the bracket from inside.. but how to you get to the fasteners?

Any help would be great.. as this place seems to be a fountain of knowledge :-) i'll try and get a few pics of the bike.. and slap them up.

I've also got myself a '96 VFR750F now.. so can afford to have the CBR offroad to do any works :-)

Old 09-16-2009, 07:18 AM

the mirror has a screw behind the class to remove the pivet then ther are 2 screws on the inside to remove the arm.
good luck!

Old 09-16-2009, 11:01 PM

I've heard of people heating the mirror in hot water to loosen the glue that holds on the glass. Otherwise you will probably break the glass.
Good luck!

Old 09-17-2009, 08:21 AM

the cbr f1 mirror is help by the plastic it roles over the glass so you well need to cut that out and then you well have to glue it back on after.