CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

Lost your spark? Check all those switches!

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2012, 02:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Lost your spark? Check all those switches!

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie boobie and when I lost my spark recently i was like "oh my what in the world am i gonna do to sort this!"

I came on here and took some great advice off tahoerider to check through the electrics using the service manual pdf available on here.

Am I glad I did! I went through the electric starter circuit first slowly with a multimeter and found a starter button that was filthy and a clutch switch that had no continuity when you pulled the clutch lever in!

Both items were fiddly to clean up but, once I had done them I got my spark back!

So if you've lost your spark check those little fiddly switches too!

I love this forum

Old 08-26-2012, 04:55 PM

happy to hear you got it all sorted!

Old 04-10-2013, 10:28 PM

Hey guys new to the forum...
I'm working on a buddies 89 cbr 600 that has no spark. I have been through this probably three times now. Coils ohm fine plugs are new wires are good pulse generator ohms out fine. the only issue i can see is that the two solid colored wires coming from the pulse generator to the cdi box have resistance to ground when cdi box is connected. Obviously the ignition switch on and kill switch to run. Checked the wires with cdi box off and resistance to ground. I have power running to both coils through black white on both coils and b/w along with w/y. So power supply seems to be ok. I'm thinking that the CDI box is the issue Just want to double check with some people that know better than I.
Thanks in advance

Old 04-11-2013, 02:36 PM