CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   CBR 600F (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-600f-15/)
-   -   I've got problems (piston ring source?) (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-600f-15/ive-got-problems-piston-ring-source-154065/)

heresolong 12-31-2015 02:11 PM

I've got problems (piston ring source?)

Short version: I need a set of piston rings for a stock 1989 CBR600F motor.

Long version: I'm a Harley mechanic so I have quite a bit of experience. Don't work on Hondas, other than this one, which belongs to me.

Installing a new head gasket. I have the ring compressors so I carefully install the cylinder over pistons number 2 and 3. Slide the cylinder down a bit, rotate the motor to raise pistons 1 and 4 and clamp the rings down. Slide the cylinder on and I can't get the right side compressor clamp off. The frame is in the way. (Book shows the engine out of frame, by the way). Slide the cylinder back off pistons 1 and 4, move the clamp around so that it is sticking out to the right rear instead of right front on piston 4, slide cylinder back onto the two pistons and remove the clamps.

Here is where the problem starts. The number 4 piston cocks. I wiggle the whole assembly around a bit to try to uncock it, move the whole thing up and down a bit by rotating the motor, but it won't uncock so I slide the cylinder up and off pistons 1 and 4. The second oil ring is bent, probably because it popped out as I was sliding the cylinder down. Just a little bend, right at the end of the ring, but enough that it won't move freely in the groove.