CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

Fuel leaking from carb overflow..

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2010, 02:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel leaking from carb overflow..

I am no stranger to this forum, but I am new to the f1..
I purchased an '87 the other day so I could teach my wife how to ride and then later we could rebuild it together.. So I had it out in the driveway warming up and it fell over in its right side and died a few seconds later.. The bike will still start and idle but fuel now pours from the left side overflow tube between carb 1 and 2.

What causes this problem? Is it the floats, or something like that that gets stuck open? I am about to take the tank off and show her how to pull the carbs but I was hoping someone could shed a little bit of light on this..

Old 05-28-2010, 12:13 PM

Anybody?? I am really lost on what I should do now.

Old 05-28-2010, 01:03 PM

Wife and I took carbs apart this morning. They are fine, jets are clean and floats are all adjusted, cleaned float valves as well. Fired bike up and it still has gas coming out of the overflow tube. I let the bike run for a minute and sprayed some water on the headers, cylinder #3 isnt firing..

Old 05-28-2010, 02:41 PM

Ok so I figured out that if you turn the fuel pump off everything runs fantastic, but if you hook the pump back up it floods the carbs and leaks all over again.

Does anybody know if I can just leave the fuel pump off? I know that sounds like a stupid question but some fuel pumps on bikes just maintain pressure at higher speeds. Does this one still let fuel through?

My next question would be can I just bypass the pump all together and just gravity feed the carbs straight from the tank?

Old 05-28-2010, 03:33 PM