CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

95 600 f3 rich idle

  #1  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 41
Question 95 600 f3 rich idle

hi. new here and i have a problem. i bought a 95 f3 a few months ago the bike runs great but idles extremely rich. the choke doesnt seem to work right either. is the rich idle normal since the bike runs strong to say the least. and how do i correct the problem.
 
  #2  
Old 11-11-2013, 10:56 AM
June 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,172
Default

You'd probably be best served in the f3 forum:
CBR 600F3 - CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

But to help you out, have you ever cleaned the carbs? Check to see if the mixture screws are turned all the way out. You can probably find a manual online to tell you what the mixture screws should be set to, or someone with an f3 to tell you. If there was a jet kit installed by the previous owner, sometimes the mixture screws require adjusting.
 
  #3  
Old 11-11-2013, 01:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 41
Default

i have cleaned the carbs once. i bought the bike and had to rebuild the top endwith the help of an experienced friend. im sure that my carbs need to be sync since i dont have a set of sync gauges to do it with. its my first bike and would prefer to do the work to have a better understanding of the machine.
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-2013, 08:50 AM
dodger79's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 229
Default

Hi, I was just thinking that when I got my bike the air filter was saturated with old gas. That alone made it run a little rich. After putting on a new one it idled much better.

Just something else to rule out

Rog
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-2013, 06:29 PM
dennisgb's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 844
Default

I would question the fact that you state that the choke doesn't work...is it in the on position perhaps?
 
  #6  
Old 11-13-2013, 02:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 41
Default

Choke doesn't work properly once warm it idles normal with the choke off but the choke only works at what would be the 3/4 position everywhere else is like having the choke off
 
  #7  
Old 11-13-2013, 02:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 41
Default

Let me correct myself it idles at normal rpm range of 1400 once warm but is still exteremly rich
 
  #8  
Old 11-13-2013, 03:45 PM
June 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,172
Default

Check your choke cable at the carbs. Maybe they are hanging up and keeping the choke closed a bit?
 
  #9  
Old 11-13-2013, 03:51 PM
dennisgb's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 844
Default

Originally Posted by CorruptFile View Post
Check your choke cable at the carbs. Maybe they are hanging up and keeping the choke closed a bit?
That was what I was suggesting above. If choke is not working is it moving when running. I had one that did that.
 
  #10  
Old 11-14-2013, 01:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 41
Default

Thanks guys that gives me some places to start looking. I'm planning on going through the motor and carbs with in the next couple of months to get it back to top notch. I have a auto cct should I go ahead and change that to a manual cct while I have the plastics off
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 95 600 f3 rich idle


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.