CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

'89 Stopped Running

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2008, 02:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '89 Stopped Running

Hey, new to the forum, but I've gotten lots of help so far from other posts.

My problem is that about 4 years ago my bike (stored over winter without de-gas-ifying it) stopped running. It cranks, but never turns over. I can get it to turn over if I pour gas straight into the carbs, but cannot get it to continue to run.

It has a new battery, rebuilt carbs (as far as I know they work, I was told the guy knew what he was doing), but I don't know if the pump works - it won't spit out gas when I turn the key. I can feel the pump working (pulsating), and gas coming through the 'In' line, but no gas coming out.

I was wondering if this was a pump issue, but upon bypassing the pump, it still won't start (gravity fed). Maybe I am doing this wrong, or maybe something else is wrong entirely? I am new to the inner workings of bikes, and am going off of my Clymer manual and online posts as of yet.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

Old 10-03-2008, 05:00 PM
Default RE: '89 Stopped Running

has it had any fuel sitting in it over the period of time you've had it not running? if so, you need to clean your carburetors out well. its entirely possible that the guy didnt know what he was doing, and something is incorrect. I work on carbs often, and see that frequently.

Old 10-03-2008, 07:24 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i second that answer, thats the problem with carb'd bikes, if you leave the fuel sit in the bowls too long the jets can get clogged. That and fuel does go bad after a while. I would recommend checking to see that your carbs are indeed getting fuel first by loosening the drain plug on each bowl. If they are, clean the carbs again + a set of fresh sparky plugs and she should fire right up (with fresh fuel of course)

Old 10-03-2008, 07:40 PM