Suspension Adjustments?

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2007, 03:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Adjustments?

Hey guys. I got my 2004 1000RR about a week ago. I was thinking i might need to make a few minor adjustments to the suspension. While taking a turn like an on ramp to a highway relatively hard at a good lean angle, i just feel like the suspension is a little to soft. It almost feels a little bit bouncy, I'm not good at describing it though, im sure you'd feel it too if you rode it. It isnt scary or an ything, i have complete control of it, it just feels like it could be better, tighter. So. My question is this. How do i adjust it? I have never set up a suspension before. I know its relative to my body weight, and i know where the controls are to make the adjustments, i've just never done it. Is this something i should attempt myself, or will i just screw it up? I weight about 170 pounds. Any advice, or links to some info i could read up on about this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot guys.

kyle
[align=left] [/align]

Old 06-08-2007, 06:06 AM
Default RE: Suspension Adjustments?

Here's some guidelines to follow for suspension adjustment:

http://cbrtech.dyndns.org:8080/cbrtech/damping.php - Compression/Rebound Damping
http://cbrtech.dyndns.org:8080/cbrtech/rider_sag.php -Sag adjustment (preload)

Old 06-08-2007, 04:06 PM

[align=left]Hey thanks a lot for the links there. Very helpful. I really had no idea how much was involved in tuning in the suspension, not that it really seems too complicated, just a decent amount involved. Ill have to get a few friends hopefully this weekend and give it a go. Have many of you guys followed these guidelines to tune your suspensions? Have most of you found that you have had to make significant adjustments or even change springs? Or do most of you just leave it as is? Let me know what seems to be the norm with these bikes. thanks guys.

kyle
[/align][align=left] [/align]