CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   CBR 1000RR (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-1000rr-13/)
-   -   New tires, Scared (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-1000rr-13/new-tires-scared-81636/)

Gsxr_eater 10-30-2008 06:49 PM

New tires, Scared

Hey guys, I just got new tires..It's buggin me alot every turn i get scared because i know the tires are new..And i really don't want to high low side whatever..What's the best way to break the tires in???

bluej511 10-30-2008 07:07 PM

RE: New tires, Scared

Ride normal, don't lean too much. Scrub the tires with rough sandpaper to get the oil residue of em. Other then that go for a good long ride 100+mi to break them in nice and easy. They just need to be scrubbed thats all.

Gsxr_eater 10-30-2008 07:09 PM

Ahhh i see, Thanks alot..!!

bluej511 10-30-2008 07:14 PM

I just started riding and had to deal with new tires after 1300mi under my belt so i was nervous, used some rough sandpaper and did the whole tire real good. Drove it around for a good ride, nice and easy no hard leans, no hard maneuvers, no hard take offs and u should be fine.

snakerb 10-30-2008 07:27 PM

I just gave the bike to a friend/co-worker and let him ride it for a couple of months (military, I'm deployed and he's taking care of it.

VP 10-30-2008 07:50 PM

Interesting fact!

The oil that's on the tires is just residue from the mold they "bake" the tire in...it let's the tire be removed from the mold easily.

As far as "scrubbing" goes you don't need sandpaper necessarily, just take it nice and easy on the curves and gradually lean over more and more...definitely go very easy on the first tank of gas but stay confident...don't let your mind get in the way of everything.

1wheelwonder 10-31-2008 07:25 AM