Just bought Wrecked 2004 CBR 1000rr. Help/feedback needed

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2009, 09:53 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just bought Wrecked 2004 CBR 1000rr. Help/feedback needed

Ok guys this is my first post over here. So let me introduce myself. My name is Brenden and I live in New Jersey, I've been riding Street bikes since 2005. My last bike was an 05 GSX-R 600, but I wanted to get something bigger.

Last night I bought a rebuildable salvage title bike, and I want to get you guys take on the bike. If I got a good deal on the bike? And how much it will cost me to fix?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...%3AIT&viewitem=

I plan on putting Repsol plastics on it and found the full kit on ebay for about $400. I also found a gauge cluster for $150. Lights look to cost about 300-400. Im not sure if the wiring is intact on the bike and that is one thing that concerns me, because I don’t know much about electrical systems.

This will be a project bike and I hope to get it on the road in a month or two. What do you guys think. Im sure I will have lots of questions. Also, can anyone recommend any other forums for 1000rr’s or forums that deal with fixing up a bike where I can ask questions?

Thanks for all the help guys.

Old 05-05-2009, 01:27 PM

Ive never been a fan of buying a salvage bike, unless it was a killer deal.The only wrecked bike I ever bought was an R6, and I got it for 1200 bucks, and it had a clear title with minor bodywork damage. In fact, the damage was less than what this one is and it still cost me an extra grand.

it doesnt look to bad. But as far as a good deal. Its not bad, but by the time you put the money in it to fix it, you could have bought a bike that wasnt wrecked. Not to mention, you will always have a salvage titled bike that will never bring the same amount of money if you ever decided to sell it.

Once you start digging into situations like these, you always find more wrong that what was on the surface.