Help... '07 Need to replace front forks and triple trees.

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2009, 10:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help... '07 Need to replace front forks and triple trees.

Hey all, I think this is my first time posting, and I need some help. This is always the place to come when I need to get ideas or search for tips to help me out. I'm in a bit of a dilemma.

Acouple weeks back some doucher switched lanes on top of me without looking and made me smash my once beautiful 6 month old 07 1000rr.

The bikeappears fixable and there is no frame damage aside from a small scrape, but apparently the front tire hit a curb and broke the left front fork and lower triple tree/steering stem, as well as punctured a hole in the radiator.

As far as we can tell, aside from the fairings and front rim being a bit bent, this is all that need to be replaced in order to get the bike up and running again. Bike starts up and sounds great.

I was lucky enough to find a complete forks assembly on Ebay for $600 in excellent condition, as well as a cheap radiator & fan combo.

Here's the issue we're having: We need a good way to lift up the bike so that we can completely remove the front wheel as well as the entire fork assemly including triple trees to be replaced. From what I can tell, every bike stand out thereeither lifts from the forks, which we're replacing, or get's lifted from the steering stem, which is broken.

Any ideas? Are there and stands, lifts or some other kind of setup we could use to get this done? Help is always appreciated.

Old 01-04-2009, 10:38 AM
Default RE: Help... '07 Need to replace front forks and triple trees.

Here's some pics

[IMG]local://upfiles/24392/459E7EA0ADB14B069AE4A54A041CB9C0.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/24392/F7BF34AACBE6436FBF225BDD20C35988.jpg[/IMG]

Old 01-04-2009, 10:39 AM

1 more

[IMG]local://upfiles/24392/83E2354C5BCB49739B32C18C96D3D16E.jpg[/IMG]

Old 01-04-2009, 12:39 PM