After all the hate here's the bike...

Old 04-21-2006, 01:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After all the hate here's the bike...

Finally I get a chance to tell the story about my trip to Chattanooga last week to pick up the new bike.

After much deliberation and effort to sell my F4i and mods I finally cleaned house. Not only did I sell my F4i but I also sold a Suzuki Z400 quad I've been hanging on to for a couple of years. After selling all this stuff I got all my money together and went shopping for an '06 1000RR. I drove down to Souther Powersports last Friday. It was a solid 8 hr drive each way. The dealership was pretty basic but man they sell a lot of bikes. The place was packed with people buying Hondas of all types. After hanging around for a couple of hours at the dealership I finally finished up the paperwork, got the bike loaded, and headed back to Columbus, OH. The only problem with the trip was the torrential downpour we hit on the way home. The bike was soaked.

Luckily everything was fine the next day though. I got a chance to give the bike a solid coat of Honda polish and now she's good to go.

I've ridden the bike every day this week. I absolutely love it. It has more power than any sane person knows what to do with. I don't know if I'm breaking the bike in or it's breaking me in. It accelerates like a beast in every gear regardless of your speed. But what's most impressive is how well it handles. This bike feels very comfortable leaned over. Getting into turns is no problem.

I've already got a couple hundred miles on it. I'll probably do my first oil change a little early and take it to a local dealer to get the suspension set up too. The stock setup is a little stiff for my 155 lbs frame. Bumps seem to bounce me off the seat a little.