CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Question-Coolant and Fork Oil for CBR1000F

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2010, 09:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question-Coolant and Fork Oil for CBR1000F

Gday ppl,
I'm a total newb, two questions.. Coolant and Fork Oil for CBR1000F 1994 model.

Red or green coolant... type A or type B? I have no idea what is what.

Fork oil.. which grade? Synthetic, semi synthetic or mineral based?

Thanks!

Old 11-26-2010, 10:04 PM

I use the Prestone 50/50 green mix from walmart.

As for the fork oil, that depends on how much you weigh and how soft or stiff you want the suspension to be

Old 11-26-2010, 10:14 PM
September 2009 ROTM Winner - Faster than a Speeding ..........
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

As far as I'm concerned, red green........it's just a colour does the same job and is better than nothing! It takes 10 mins to drain the coolant from these bikes.

From memory fork oil is standard 10W or the Haynes manual specifies transmission oil , though off hand I can't remember if it's synthetic or not.

Depends on how firm you want the front end, you can go with a heavier fork oil if you want.

Do a search, there are threads on here about this. Someone even suggests lengthening the front fork spring spacer to firm up the front.

I've just fitted the Hagon springs, these dispense with the spacer altogether and are supposed to be a big improvement, though as it's winter here and I've not had a chance to test them ( -2C salty roads).

I'm sure there'll be plenty to offer advice on here

Old 11-27-2010, 06:09 AM
Default ...

I way 82kg... also I'm from Australia.. no evil Walmart here so not familiar with that brand coolant! What is 50/50 about it?

We do have kmart.. and autocheap. I don't have the haynes manual handy :|

Thanks for replies!

Old 11-27-2010, 07:07 AM