CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Humming noise when cornering...

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2015, 02:05 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Humming noise when cornering...

Hello

I have got the problem that I have been tracing for 3 years now. First things first... at some point she started to make noise when cornering or just when you leant the bike while riding in a waving fashion.

The sound resembled the one produced by a worn wheel bearing so they were the first thing I addressed. I bought new bearings for the front and the rear wheel including the rear sprocket bearing. To my surprise... no improvement....

It was in the first year.. I kept riding whereas at some point I inspected the tyres and I noticed the rear one cupping. It did stop my further research on the matter until now. However, after the discovery of the abused tyre I dismantled the rear swing arm, looked at the bearings there - they were sound, and looked at the rear shock - which had never caused me any trouble and there I replaced the bottom shock bushing (it didn't look good) and ordered new shock bolts from honda. I just thought it might have been the bushing that caused the cupping.. anyway... it was in the second year, I kept riding the old tyre...

And this year, and as there were still more things to address, I put her aside and my riding season came a bit later. I bought new tyres, new sprockets and a new chain. So it seems every bit of the drive train is in perfect order now....

I took her on the road and.... to hell... it humms when cornering, first I thought I would give the tyres some time to break in, but I did 300kms now and no improvement. I am starting to think, some engine component whines when the bike is leant?

I am out of ideas for now

PS. other than the noise she rides perfectly...

Last edited by bc30se; 05-06-2015 at 02:08 AM.
Old 05-06-2015, 08:50 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post