CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Cylinder Head Removal

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2011, 09:23 AM
September 2009 ROTM Winner - Faster than a Speeding ..........
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Exclamation Cylinder Head Removal

As you might have guessed, trying to remove the snapped exhaust stud has not gone well and after another attempt this morning I decided that removing the cylinder head was the best way to proceed.

Now a question or two. In the Haynes manual it says to raise the engine by removing all the engine mounts except for the rear mount and jacking the engine up. Is this really necessary? It looks like there is enough space to get it out.

Secondly, I'll be taking the head to have the stud drilled out. How far do I need to dismantle it and do you have any advice on this 'cos I've never done it before. Do I need to protect the head, other than not drop it on the floor

Thirdly it says to separate the head from the block by tapping it with a soft faced hammer. How hard is a tap? I don't want to crack anything, and will a normal hammer and a block of wood be OK?

Advice from anyone with experience of this type of thing will be greatly appreciated.

Old 08-28-2011, 10:02 AM
Senior Member & Lord of the Odometer (300,000 Mles) & Counting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey:

hawkwind, I normally remove the engine from the frame, as it speeds things up for me and I don't like having to work around angles and tight quarters for a few extra bolts. Just remember you do not have to disconnect the clutch line, just remove the whole sprocket cover and remove the front sprocket or just the chain if you have a smaller front sprocket on it.