CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

cbr 1000f bogs down at low rpm

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2006, 05:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cbr 1000f bogs down at low rpm

Hello,

I'm new to this forum as well as being the new owner of a 93 cbr1000f.
The bike is in good shape but it seems to stumble or bog down when I roll
on the throttle in 6th gear and the rpm's are below 3K. It also seems to surge
when cruising at a set speed. The bike appears to have a V&H SSR2 muffler
but I don't know how to tell if the pipe is stock or aftermarket.
I don't know if it's had a jet kit or not. I'm pretty new to all this performance
stuff anyway since my first bike was an 81 kz440.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Old 07-20-2006, 08:39 PM
Default RE: cbr 1000f bogs down at low rpm

I'm not a CBR expert but here are some ideas:

If the bike produces full power and has a good midrange, which I assume since you are not reporting such problems, I would go thrue the following to fix the low rpm bogging. They are not written in a best to do order, I would goe thrue the easiets ones first and on.

- Check the plugs and replace them if they seems outdated. If they are unevenly coloured, that will indicate a problem in a specific carb or cylinder.

- If the valve lash has not been checked for long, it might be worth doing, the intake valves are prone to be to tight (i.e. be open if lash is negative). This would normally lead to starting and cold running problems, while the engine later runs fine when warmed up.

- Check that the choke activation goes on/off correct and that the choke wire clamp on carb is securely fixed.

- Clean the carbs including the throttle surfaces and throttle bores. It might be something other than clogged carbs, but after doing that they can be taken off the suspect list for years to come if you also install an in-line filter in the fuel line.