CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Brake Problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2008, 03:23 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Problems

Hi everbody first time here and looks great.
I just bought a 1995 cbr1000f about 2 months ago all was fine till other day when i noticed i needed to press the bake brakes twice to get them to work.
I am wondering if it just needs a kit through it our replace whole brake master cylinder.
There is no fluid leaking and once pumped it is fine for a while until pressure leaks back.

The local honda agent said no stock for a month on either so i need so sugestions if that is the cause i have bleed the system after it went soft as buy the instrucions in this forums and it made no difference.
Please help as i am new to hondas CBS brake setup.

Old 04-16-2008, 04:01 AM
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Brake Problems

Welcome to the Forum !

You may still have air in the system (assuming there are no leaks) try bleeding them again.
There is a specific sequence for bleeding the brakes on a 95 model.They have linked brakes, and if your bleed sequence is wrong, the brakes won't work correctly.
Download the manual at
http://members.iinet.net.au/~cbr/Hon...Manual.pdf>
or
http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/midlife/i...ice_Manual.pdf
> > Hope it works -
Old brake fluid may also be the cause due to water retention. When was it last changed ?
Only other thing I can think of is a failing master cylinder - replacement kit may be needed.
Probably just needs bleeding using the correct sequence.

Old 04-16-2008, 05:01 AM

I second Shadow1's opinions. Bleed the brakes is the first option. And don't trust the shop to do it correctly - my disappointing experience is that mechanics don't always have the proper understanding of the complexity of the Dual Combined Braking System and therefore I had to do it myself to get rid of the accumulated air.

Old 04-16-2008, 07:52 AM