CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   CBR 1000F "Hurricane" (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-1000f-hurricane-38/)
-   -   Bent forks :( (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-1000f-hurricane-38/bent-forks-154935/)

logleggett 09-13-2016 08:16 AM

Bent forks :(

Hello fellow Hurricane riders, I have been a constant veiwer of this fourm for some time now this is my first time posting however. I recently crashed my 95' going about 55 in a corner the plastics are all gone front crowl is hanging on by a thread and gauges are all smashed, Not to mention the reason I am making this thread by the looks of the forks one seems to be bent slightly I can turn the wheel to the left super far but the right only goes a little. In order for my tires to be stright it has to be held to the right more than usual which leads me to beleive the forks are bent. I am going to try and turn my girl into a street fighter however I am unsure what forks I can use to replace these ones if anyone knows please comment thank you guys for taking the time to read this! Also on a side note if anyone has a subframe for a newer 1000rr that they are looking to get rid of please DM me thank you!

Jaybird180 09-13-2016 02:51 PM

Loosen the forks in the triple clamps and attempt to reset. If you need new tubes, Racetech manufactures new tubes. All they need is the Inner and Outer Diameters and length, which they probably have already from Make/Model/Year info.

TimBucTwo 09-13-2016 04:11 PM

^+1
Put the bike up on the center stand and loosen the lower fork clamps. You should be able to lock the front wheel between your legs and move the bars straight before tightening the lower fork clamps.

A good machine shop or auto shop with a press may be able to help straighten them if they are bent slightly.
The problem may be the clamps themselves. I have seen where they have been bent on other bikes before.