CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

1993 CBR1000FL not starting

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2009, 04:22 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 CBR1000FL not starting

Hello, my bike (1993 CBR1000FL) has been parked up for a just over a year. I was starting it regularly, no problems, would kick over first time every time, while it was off the road.

A few months I had to use the battery in another bike, so it didn't get started as often as it was used to.

Anyway, I got a new battery, chucked it in, and...now the bike won't start. It drained the battery.

So, where should I start?
The bike is cranking, the fuel is pumping > How do I check for spark? (normally I'd just hold a lead over the engine case, but the plug covers are really long....) I have a multimeter, but I'm a noob with it.

All the plugs are good.
The R/R is practically new.
The relay is good...wait a minute?...(I wonder if I put the fuse back in...?) I'll be back...

Old 03-07-2009, 04:28 AM

Originally Posted by stuconz
The relay is good...wait a minute?...(I wonder if I put the fuse back in...?) I'll be back...
Nope, that's all fine. The fuse was in...

Old 03-07-2009, 10:49 AM
September 2009 ROTM Winner - Faster than a Speeding ..........
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Just an idea but if you still have the old battery , try charging it and start the bike on the old battery . If it starts then its a fault with the new battery.

Old 03-07-2009, 10:51 AM
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Rodents ate the kill switch wiring, or got into the air filter ?

Old 03-07-2009, 12:41 PM

Lift the tank and pull one of the plugs, then reconnect the plug wire and crank it over. If you see spark, the problem might be somewhere else. Number 4 plug is the easiest for this as it's on the same side as the ignintion switch. At the same tiem have a look and see if the plug is wet. Do all this right after cranking it over a few times.

Old 03-07-2009, 09:40 PM