Riding Skills Want to improve your skills on or off the track?

shifting question(s)

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2014, 11:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default shifting question(s)

I am fairly new to riding, but im a mechanic by trade so i know how things work. I am fairly smooth with my speed shifting going up the gears, but I think my cautious style prevent me from experimenting on the road with speed shifting down,

I worry about matching the throttle on the way down and giving her too much kick and have 'er launch my nose up. That's not cool.

So should I be "flicking" throttle like I do on the upshift? If so, which direction? Or should I just let off the throttle?

Also.

I drove trucks for a few years, so naturally I shift at low rpms. Usually around the 4.5-5.5 up and 2.5-3.5 on the way down. Is this a good thing? Bad thing? Or does it matter?

Old 07-17-2014, 01:53 AM
September 2009 ROTM Winner - Faster than a Speeding ..........
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Drumsergeant
I drove trucks for a few years, so naturally I shift at low rpms. Usually around the 4.5-5.5 up and 2.5-3.5 on the way down. Is this a good thing? Bad thing? Or does it matter?
Depends on your riding style really and what you want to get out of the bike, I don't know what you ride, but with my bike the fireworks don't really get started until 6000rpm. But I also like bimbling along and letting the low end torque do it's thing.

Old 07-17-2014, 05:40 PM
Nov 2011 ROTM

You don't really need to do anything, just ease out on the clutch. You can lightly add some throttle to match RPMs if you really want to but it's not necessary unless your really pushing the revs and then trying to downshift abruptly.

Downshifting isnt going to anything to "the nose" unless your holding the throttle wide open and then drop a gear.

I'm confused about "flicking" the throttle on the upshift too.... Can't imagine why you would need to do that.

Old 07-17-2014, 11:18 PM