Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Any BBQ'ing tips?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2011, 04:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any BBQ'ing tips?

Im BBQ'ing Ribeye Steaks for me and my girl tonight and was wondering if you had any BBQ'ing tips. I'm basically a beginner and want any advice you can give.

-cheers

Old 08-23-2011, 05:02 PM

Beginner eh? You can't go wrong! Always remember that... No matter what happens you can't go wrong..

Now.. Do you want a true BBQ (dripping with BBQ sauce) or are you just cooking it on the grill with no sauce?

Old 08-23-2011, 05:10 PM
Super Moderator and Official Welcome Crew Yeti
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Dfbewley2
Now.. Do you want a true BBQ (dripping with BBQ sauce) or are you just cooking it on the grill with no sauce?
he said
Originally Posted by smoorebmw
Ribeye Steaks
so i'm going to assume he means grilling. (he better mean grilling! ribeyes would be weird with bbq sauce.) hard to screw up a ribeye - plenty of fat to keep things juicy.

btw, since you're in SD, phil's is the place to check out for real bbq.

Old 08-23-2011, 05:22 PM

You never know.. People like BBQ sauce with their ribeyes hahaha!

Old 08-23-2011, 05:49 PM

I was gonna stay away from bbq sauce since these damn steaks cost $28. It's better be good without it I LOVE PHIL'S BBQ!!!!

Old 08-23-2011, 06:09 PM

Damn... $28 for both? Those better be some big steaks haha! The fat on will keep them nice and juicy.. My only tip for non-sauce BBQing is to keep and eye on them.. Haha! I only BBQ with sauce and I have a ton of tricks for that haha

Old 08-23-2011, 07:23 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Gear the grill ripping hot, sear both sides 2-3 minutes a side for med rare (maybe more if there really thick).

I like them simple with just salt and pepper, but occasionally I'll hit them with my tri-tip rub.

1 part salt
1 part dried thyme
1 part dried rosemary
1 part onion powder