How To's Show us what ya did and how ya did it!

'94 Voltmeter install

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2013, 02:24 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '94 Voltmeter install

Well I thought that since I've read so much the last couple of years about regulator/rectifier issues, and there was a little blank spot on the fairing to the left of the tank, I'd just install a voltmeter. Marine (waterproof) and economical (cheap) were the criteria, and when I found one that was both, AND said 'Honda' on it, I couldn't resist.
After I figured out what I wanted to do, naturally, I found a pic on another site by a guy that had done the same thing on a VFR, so I'm not as smart as I thought I was, but anyway, here goes:

First, I removed the nose fairing and put a layer of fiberglass and thickened resin (I'm an amateur boatbuilder) under the spot where I wanted to put the gauge to strengthen the area. In retrospect, the plastic was stouter than I thought, so this is probably not necessary.
Fiberglass.jpg?t=1373072427

Note: The fairing clips under the headlight are a pain to remove until you understand how the work. They're like dry-wall anchors. The middle pin is threaded and can be unscrewed until it's far enough out to get your fingernails under and pull it out.
Leave the pin out when you re-install. Push the outer piece into the hole and then push the pin in and you're all set. The one on the left is as you will find it when you get ready to remove, the one on the right is as it is when you pull it out, and as it needs to be to be reinstalled:
Fasteners.jpg?t=1373071499

After triple-checking the area under the fairing panel for clearance, I taped and marked the circle, trying to center it on the panel and still have it located such that the back of the gauge would not hit the frame.
Then, after staring at the irreplaceable faring and the 1 5/8" hole saw for 10 minutes, I let 'er rip. 15 seconds of terror, and it was done.
Drilledit.jpg?t=1373071895