F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Temperature gauge/ delayed throttle response!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2016, 09:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Temperature gauge/ delayed throttle response!!

Hello everyone,
First time on the group. I just bought a 2004 CBR F4i. A few things I have concerns about in the hopes that I didn't get screwed over in the deal, because let's face it... I'm no motorcycle mechanic. But it wasn't until after I got it home I noticed details immediatialty that threw alarms in my head. #1 the temperature gauge on the rpm part of the dash doesn't read any degree in temperature. Just stays at 2 dashes (--). Not sure why it's doing this, to my knowledge it worked before and nothing was done except a new battery was installed. Any ideas would help since I don't even know where to start.
#2 now this one is more important (due to the safety factor) but I read up on this particular issue and will try some of those things out before really getting help. The issue is that every turn of the throttle there is a delayed response of the bike actually reving. Also the throttle does not spring back. I read a bit on lubing the cables, but will this also help fix the delay response? Please give me all the help you can. I greatly appreciate it, I am ready to learn!
Thank you,
M. Crippen

Old 11-14-2016, 10:51 AM
Received 34 Likes on 32 Posts

Sounds like the bike needs work. I'd check the temp gauge sensor first and check the return springs on the throttle bodies then check lube on cables but I've never lubed my cables in 10yrs and 80,000 miles of ownership so I doubt its a problem.

Old 11-14-2016, 01:49 PM