F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

Not starting - Im really new to motorcycles

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2013, 03:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not starting - Im really new to motorcycles

Good evening fellow CBR owners.

I need some help locating the problem i have with starting my bike.

I've left my cbr outside under the roof these last 3 cold Norwegian winter months(I bought it from a guy who had a garage). and a couple of days ago i tried starting it and it did, and me being a total retard i only gave it around 2 min to warm up before gently rewing it a little bit, this led to loud "boom" sounds and it died out and it did start again, but it would act the same. so i thought i would leave it be and let my brother look at it.

And today i wouldn't start properly, we had to run and pop it in gear and it started like one of the 100 times we tried. and when it did and we rewed it, it would die out. we tried connecting the battery to a car but that didn't help much.

My brother believes the plugs might be blown.

And i was wondering if you guys had any input before i change the plug, and maybe someone have e "how to guide" for that?

Best regards

Firesnake

Old 03-28-2013, 04:30 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Firesnake, välkommen till forumet. Svensk här. I am also troubleshooting starter problems from a noob perspective and could post any findings in your thread if you would like. I actually managed to drive like 800 meters from the garage before it died on me so I am now checking everything from kinks in the fuel lines to what I suspect, old petrol. I also had to recharge the battery as it was really week. Good luck!

Old 03-28-2013, 09:15 PM
Welcome Crew