New rider needing some major help!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2007, 02:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New rider needing some major help!!

[b]Hello to all here at these forums. The name is Marc and as you have already guessed, I am fairly new to this kind of thing. I mean, I'm not new to riding, but I am new to street riding.

I am 18 years old, I weigh about 125lbs and I am about 5'7" depending on which convient store i am leaving, lol. And am about to ship out for basic, for the Army, in about a month. I plan on getting a 2007 CBR600RR after I come back from my 6 months of training.

I have riden multiple dirt bikes and ATV's, but coming here and listening and reading some of these pages have got me wondering. "I don't know as much as I thought I did". So I am here to ask for some help.

When I rode all of those dirt bike's and ATV's, I just rode them. I didn't know what certain specific things were called, or the mixture of fuel/oil ratio for certain stroke bikes and what not. I knew the basic's. Well, I came here and heard all these different terms and what not that I think I should be familiar with. Such as sliding covers, cowls, and just some other things and such. I feel so stupid right now. I mean, I have taught all of my friends how to ride dirt bikes and here I am asking for help on something that, people who know me, think I know about. But I have just come here to ask for some help. Also, some questions... Let me get down to it if you don't mind.