CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

New Member New F3 Advice Needed!

Old 08-20-2016, 05:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member New F3 Advice Needed!

So I just bought my first F3 and I would appreciate a little help to get her fully road ready Some little background first. I’m coming from a 86 Rebel 450 so I know my way around pesky carbs and how moody they can be, as well as other basic motorcycle mechanics, but I am no pro. Im a freshman in college and rather have some guidance on what I should do before i break anything. Also worth noting, that I will include both pictures of the bike and pictures the crazy amount of extra parts the PO gave to me. Some I don't even know what they are.

My F3 has around 30k miles, got it for 1200, but she runs strong ! Starts right up, no bogging, no funky noises, but I do have some minor maintenance type questions.

1st - The PO sold the bike with A BUNCH of extra parts, saying this was his project but his daughter didn’t want him riding blah blah, so he gave me basically a whole extra bike. One of the things that caught my attention that he mentioned, was that he recommends me to put a resivoir bottle because he just has the hose running from the radiator by itself I assume. The day I rode the bike back to campus, I didn’t feel like it ran hot, it was constant speed, I live in S FL so its always generally kind of hot. But once I arrived, parked and turned off the bike, I heard a small hissing sound and then out of no where like a pop, and looked down to see a lot of steam coming through this little hose hanging. Ill upload a video.

I called my shop back where I used to live for some advice and they recommend I install the resivoir bottle and then make sure the fluids topped off for the radiator and fill the reservoir and then run the bike to see what happens. One small problem is my temp gauge does not work, and my speedo is on and off so im assuming it may be a bad connections, also checking fuses.