CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

I need some direction

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2016, 12:22 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need some direction

First of all let me say hi, glad to be a part of this forum.

I have a 1998 CBR 600F3. I am a noob, learned everything I know via youtube so I can use all the advice I can get. When I first got the bike it didnt run, ended up taking the carbs entirely apart and cleaning/adjusting them based on youtube videos. After that the bike ran . Runs decent actually. The issues I would like help with are that while riding at higher RPMS when I let off the gas the bike backfires pretty badly. Only things I have changed on the bike is putting on a little shorty exhaust tip (which im not a big fan of). I am looking on ebay and trying to shop around for a carb kit, jet kit, or a new air filter. Dont know which direction I should start with to get the backfiring to stop. Another note, the bike has great top end speed but low end speed (particularly 1st gear) is not so great. Thanks in advance!

Old 07-23-2016, 03:44 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi mate
Not knowing where you are but well done for first up getting the bike but secondly getting the hands dirty in trying to fix stuff.
I'd be really hunting down that car you kit mate but in the interim run a really heavy dose of carby/injector cleaner through it. Start with basics and make sure air filters, fuel filters are all good, check all of your plug leads as well as plugs,
Do you know off hand if anyone had played with or messed around with cam timing. Could even be possible if someone at some stage had replaced the cam chain and possibly got it a tooth out.
You can't as such changed ignition timing on these I don't think as I think on that bike the ignition timing would be governed by the ecu controlled by signal from crank position sensor.