CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

94 CBR600F (F2) Bogging Down Between 5-7k RPM

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2022, 03:23 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 94 CBR600F (F2) Bogging Down Between 5-7k RPM

Hey Everyone,

I’m fairly new to tinkering but in the past year I have had some help fitting a new engine (F3 engine with about 6k miles on the clock), cleaning carbs and jets, rebuilding front brakes, changing chain and sprockets (standard size), which has allowed me to service the bike, repair a fuel leak from the T-joints going into each carb, and identify and fix a coolant leak myself.

After I had cleaned the carbs (and unfortunately not made sure the tank was fully clean of any bits, even though I changed the fuel filter, duh!) the bike was running pretty nicely but was occasionally sticking at 3000rpm but after a while that sorted itself out! I then noticed the fuel leak from the T joints I mentioned earlier but did not have time to repair it before leaving the country for 6 months.

Before I left I made sure I put the bike away properly, drained the carbs, disconnected the battery, kept it on paddock stands etc, and when I returned I was able to get the carbs off, split the rack to replace the seals on the T Joints, put it back together and got it running again with no leak, happy days! Well not entirely…

The bike is idling okay at around 1000/1100 rpm but fluctuating a little bit, and riding pretty nicely from 7k rpm onwards but between 5k and 7k especially it is bogging down hard. If I am within this range and I open up the throttle the bike splutters and jolts, giving me hardly any power until it hits 7k and flys again! I’m hoping that this could be down to me needing to balance the carbs and not me having to split the bike down and clean the carbs again but I wanted some expert advice please…?