CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

Time to say goodbye.

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2016, 03:49 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Time to say goodbye.

Well, the time has come to part ways with my friend of 17 years.

That's right, the Bare Knuckle Boxer, my 1988 CBR 600 F1 Hurricane is going up for sale. This was the first sportbike ever with body cladding, the first sportbike ever with a boxed frame. This bike ruled 600 class racing from it's inception in 1987 until the CBR 600 F3 came out in 1995. The CBR 600 F2 couldn't even touch it. It could take any 1000CC bike up until mid 2004 when the 1kRR and R1's suddenly got put on diets and dropped weight.

I've been driving it since 1998 and owned it since 2000. Master mechanic maintained it's entire life.

The good:
13:1 CR, still has perfect cylinder pressure of 165lbs on all 4.
Milled .035, ported, polished, and 5 angle valve job done on head.
New Electrosport voltage regulator and stator 100 miles ago.
Factory Pro shift kit.
Factory Pro +6* ignition advance.
EBC race brakes front and rear.
Goodridge stainless brakes lines front and rear.
EBC drag clutch.
Wilwood EXP600+ brake fluid.
1990 cams.
Dynojet Stage 2 carb jetting with full race stage 7 airbox mods on 1990 carbs.
D&D Head back full race tri-Y exhaust and muffler.
Vortex 0/+4 sprockets.
RK sport 520 chain with about 3k miles on it.
Always ran Honda 20W50 oil, changed every 3 months, post race day, or 3k miles, whichever came first.
New spark plugs.
CBR F4i rear pegs.
Rear fender modded to be much smaller than stock with other weight reductions to bring body down to 425lbs wet.
Aftermarket rear turns and mirrors.
VFR handlebars for 3.5" rise and 2" pullback.
Michelin tires with 1,500 miles on them.
Throttle and carbs are so dialed it feels like they are hardwired to your brain.