CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Tire Size for 1987 CBR1000f

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2010, 12:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire Size for 1987 CBR1000f

Can anyone please let know what is the largest Tire size I can install on my bike. It's a 1987 CBR 1000f.
Front and Back ( with the standard rims)

thanks in advance

Old 01-21-2010, 01:41 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Old 01-23-2010, 12:05 AM

thanks for the quick links but since I am new to this, I need to ask another questions about tires for a 1987 CBR 1000F.
I saw in one of the links that you gave me that someone actually mentioned that he put bigger tires then i expected for my bike model.
here are the 2 tires I am looking at can anyone please give me their advise if they will fit on my stoke rims.
Michelin Pilot Power Rear Tire - 160/60ZR17 69w
Michelin Pilot Power Front Tire- 120/70ZR17 58W
and would anyone know if they would mess up my speedometer?

Old 01-23-2010, 03:58 AM
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

You can but 160 is pushing it - why don't you buy a wider rear rim from the later model and a spacer, and you can go to 180 comfortably.120 front is fine.
Those tyres won't mess up your speedo (it already runs about 10% high)
Those tyres will give you good grip, but the Michelin Pilot Road 2 or the Bridgestone BT021 will give you better mileage, and not much less grip.
The Hurri is a heavy bike...................

Old 01-24-2010, 09:31 PM

Shadow, can you please let me know what I have to do to put a 180 rear tire on my bike please

Old 01-24-2010, 10:19 PM

buy a wider rear rim from the later model and a spacer, and you can go to a 180 tyre
Maybe someone on here with an 87/88 is better qualified to answer your question in greater detail............................The rim size changed in '89.
There are history threads on it too.........................

Default RE: wheel? widder?