CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Stator - Grumble/bang thumping.?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2013, 08:21 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stator - Grumble/bang thumping.?

Hiya I am a newbie to this bike world but I am a little mech minded.

My First bike just so happens to be this old bad boy from the hey days CBR1000FJ. Yes it now old but Its a dam beast when it works and I just love it so much I can't part with it.

However, I have an issue with what I think to be a Stator issue. When the bike runs by itself on tick over I get a bangin sound. I 1st looked into this CCT probs and the sound is defo not from the top of the engine. I have walked slowly around the bike engine from right to left and its defo the left hand side and at the bottom.

I started the bike up from cold and llisten to the engine more carefully with ear on the engine and then repeated this on the stator case. The sounds is more so louder on the stator case rather than the engine.
This does not mean that when i add power the sound is present/gone. I just cannot hear it over my old rusty exhaust sound with bunch of holes in it. Instead when i hit about 4k revs I can hear the sweet engine whine/whistle like a new bike would but its very feint cause of the freaking exhaust noise and just maybe the sounds from the stator casing.

The main real question is, Is their any problems with bearings or the tensioner in the stator region i should be concerned about.? Espec when bike is on tick over.

Yes the bike charges very well the bike runs like a champ, I have re adjusted the gaps on the rocker arms to .004 in and .006 ex. atleast i think that was the setting without rechecking via the online manual. The CCT seams to be strong, I have renewed all Coils and leads with plugs. Rep'd all seals on carbs and rebalanced and slightly increased the tick over to 1150/1200 not the 1050RPM. Cleaned all leads from scale build up. Main chain free and tight and no lock ups on free rotation.