CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

A small accident

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2012, 10:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A small accident

Got into a "nice" accident smashed the front end.

Fortunately, no frame damage. Found a parts bike and swapped the front end. Then a few months later, I also found another mistreated cbr with a blown engine....

with the parts bike i have a engine to swap. Just dropped it yesterday. However not sure what is the best way verify its clean. I know it turns over. I put a battery in and turned the engine over using the starter solenoid. What else should i do before installing this engine? upon inspection it looks fine.(on the outside) This is my first build too

Old 11-02-2012, 10:09 AM

Since you have the means to crank the motor over while you have it on a bench, you should do a compression check and a leakdown test. If the new motor passed them, it's probably in good shape. Unless there's something wrong with the transmission. In that case, you just have to hope it's healthy. Unless you want to tear into the motor just to see if anything is wrong. Which there probably isn't.

Old 11-02-2012, 10:25 AM
Super Moderator
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts

Hey Smooth, can you please define 'nice' accident for me as that bike looks as though you dropped it off a high rise!

As stated above, you can do some rudimentary checks with the motor out, but unless you want to tear it apart you will be taking a chance fitting it.

Turn it over with the plugs out, see that there is no binding, do a compression test, make sure the timing is correct, you may have to use a dial indicator on top of a piston through the spark plug hole, drain the oil and check for particulate metal, you may want to do the valve clearances while the engine is out too if everything else checks out.

Cheers, SB

Old 11-02-2012, 04:48 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts