CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Kicking myself pretty hard on this one

Old 08-12-2012, 10:20 PM
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kicking myself pretty hard on this one

A few moths ago when I laid the ol girl over I had to order a new timing pulse rotor( I think it's called) in short I fu-**d up and ordered an 91 model and I own a 94. I'm new to all this and relize I f-Ed up so what I'm asking is how bad did I mess up and what prOblems this may have caused. Any advise is much appreciated

Old 08-13-2012, 02:55 AM
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Firstly I've never heard of a timing rotor ever giving any trouble - I had my bike land on that side after being knocked off - what or who told you the timing rotor was suspect ?

Second, I don't think there's any difference in the rotors between the years you mentioned, even though they may have different part numbers. All the gaskets etc etc fit both years only the fairings and lights are a different shape........

What symptoms do you have ? - probably not rotor related at all IMHO.

Old 08-13-2012, 11:00 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by Shadow
Firstly I've never heard of a timing rotor ever giving any trouble - I had my bike land on that side after being knocked off - what or who told you the timing rotor was suspect ?

Second, I don't think there's any difference in the rotors between the years you mentioned, even though they may have different part numbers. All the gaskets etc etc fit both years only the fairings and lights are a different shape........

What symptoms do you have ? - probably not rotor related at all IMHO.
Well when closely examined you'll see the timing marks aren't the same an also the 91 and 94 are different part numbers. I've been through he'll trying to get everything in top shape and never een considered this when I ordered my parts last.. Not saying its not me thts wrong just my thoughts

Old 08-13-2012, 12:43 PM
Banned