CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Introducton and question

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2010, 02:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Introducton and question

Hey all. I just picked up an 87 Hurricane as a craigslist trade for a lawn tractor I had. I've been around bikes for most of my life. I have lots of experience resurrecting barn finds. My current bike is a 77 yamaha xs360 cafe'd with a fiberglass bum-stop seat I build myself, rear sets from an R6, and a 2 into one underslung muffler.

So after I picked up the Hurricane, I stripped the plastics and pulled the carbs. They were filthy, so I stripped them and cleaned everything. Reassembled the bike and she fired up. Idled high with the choke on as it warmed up, idled rough once the choke is off. So I get out the mecury sticks and get ready to balance the carbs. On my bike, #2 is the carb the other carbs are set to. With the vacuum gauges hooked up, #1, #3, and #4 look normal. The mercury bounces a little bit, but basically steady. But #2 barely moves. It climbes to a normal vacuum reading, but doesn't fluctuate like the other carbs do.

I shut everything off and using a length of tubing hooked to the test ports, I checked to see if I could blow into each port and yes, I sucked on them as well. There's no way to type this part without sounding ghey.

All of the carbs were free flowing through that air cut out circuit EXCEPT #2. So I pulled the carbs off, separated 1 from the rest and removed the air cut out diaphragm. I blew air through all the passages and could get a tiny amount of airflow through the nipple, but not nearly as much as the other carbs (I pulled the air cut out diaphragm out of the separated #1 carb as reference. Air roars out the nipple if it is applied to the proper port behind the cut out diaphragm). I used a guitar string to lightly prod around the #2 air cut out ports and nipple with no change.