CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Installed bearings: steering stem

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2012, 09:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installed bearings: steering stem

Well, my steering has been feeling kind of "off" lately. I talked to a few guys on the forum and they suggested that I should install new bearings on the steering stem. I look up the proceedure in my shop manual and it seemed quite straight forward. So, off came all the plastic from the front of the bike and I started to disassemble the steering stem. First I took off the fork tubes and then got to the actual steering stem. When I examined the races and the bearings, I found that there were small indentations in the races. I guess that years of vibration had worn these small indentations into the races. It was just enough to make the steering feel notchy coming off center. Getting the old races off and the new ones installed was a real pain. I'm not a mechanic although I like to think of myself as being moderately handy around a bike. I have a friend who helped me and kept me on the straight and narrow. After some trial and errors, I got everything changed and installed properly. Now that I have the steering head back, I think I might as well change the oil in the forks and install new seals. Since I have it all disassembled, it makes sense to do this maintenance now. Then I might switch over to braided steel brake lines. I did this on my 600f3 and it made a huge difference in the feel of the brakes. So, I guess I have been keeping myself busy; but I'm excited to get the old bike back out on the road with the new improvements. Since I have the f3 to ride, I don't mind spending some time getting the 1000f back in good shape again. It is such a great bike I hate to see it falling into bad repair. I'll post again when I have some more progress to report on.

Old 05-12-2012, 03:13 AM