CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Fork Seal DIY

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2013, 08:23 PM
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fork Seal DIY

Guys,
I got home yesterday from a ride on the Blackbird and I have a right fork seal leak. I'm going to do both and have pulled the forks out of the bike already. I was going to take them to the shop to be done but there is something inside my head saying DIY....lol. I have ordered Pyramid seals and dust covers and should get them in a few days. I've been checking out Youtube for how to vids and have found some good vids on it. I've never done them before but would like to have a crack at it. I noticed in one vid the guy was using a damping rod bleed tool to rid the air from the system after he put the new oil in. Is there any other way of doing that ? I'm weighing up buying the proper tools to do it properly given how often you have to replace them. This is the first set I've needed to do on my BB since I got it 9 years ago ( 45,000 km ), against just getting the shop to do it. Thanks.

Old 05-04-2013, 08:36 PM
Administrator, MVN / ROTM NOV 2012
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Nice and slow Bordo - it's pretty straight forward for most all forks - decent seal driver
(can be made from PVC) and an oil depth syringe too is really all you need I would not
get too worked up about air bubbles. Polish up the fork tubes with a nice soft non
abrasive cloth and imo - change out the teflon inner bushings - they are cheap and it's
a good idea.

Old 05-05-2013, 01:31 AM
September 2009 ROTM Winner - Faster than a Speeding ..........
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Easy as pie on the 1000F, would think the BB would be the same. Don't bother going and buying expensive tools, just make sure the chrome has absolutely no corrosion, otherwise you'll be doing them again in a week.

Old 05-05-2013, 03:26 AM
Senior Member & tensioner mod inventor ROTM WINNER FEB 2013

Hey Bordo, you and me both mate.