CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Clutch slipping after 7k RPM in every gear.

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2013, 11:37 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch slipping after 7k RPM in every gear.

Bike in question is a 1990. I'm having a slight issue that's actually quite perplexing. Just as the title says, my clutch slips in every gear, but only right around 7k rpm. From idle to 7k, it pulls like a freight train- in 1st through 6th gear. I'm new to hydraulic clutches, but does this sound like an adjustment issue? Is there even an adjustment? To rule a few things out, it has proper motorcycle oil in it, and no matter if I'm going uphill or down, it slips at 7k. EVERY. TIME. I've been spending the majority of my last few weekends fixing everything else from the previous owner, but this one has my mind boggled.

Thanks in advance for your help.

John

Last edited by burbleburble; 07-15-2013 at 12:11 AM.
Old 07-15-2013, 03:35 AM
Welcome Crew

here`s a few things to check

no air in the system
piston on the clutch cylinder is moving in and out free and is clean (may need a overhaul)
the push rod is not damaged or bent

Old 07-15-2013, 04:56 AM
Crazy CBR Salvage Guy. RIP

Max. torque is achieved at 8k rpm. Maybe 7k is the point that engine power starts to overwhelm clutch plate wear?

Old 07-16-2013, 12:59 AM
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I agree with Teeks
Mine does it at almost the same revs, especially when cold, especially in the 4 5 and 6 gears
It does improve when the oil gets to operating temperature, but I'd say you need at least new friction plates in your clutch. I know I do
Takes about 2 hours to replace them and not expensive.

Old 07-16-2013, 01:59 AM