Alternative Parts What fits where, what else will fit, resources + bike manuals

Genmar Risers

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2009, 02:05 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Genmar Risers

There might be better or cheaper places to buy these, but I put them on my bike in about 5 minutes, and I'm no mechanic.

If you want your bars up and back just a tad (3/4") you can feel the difference but you'll immediately forget you put them on because they look so factory. Plus, you don't have to change any cables or hoses.

I was worried it would be a waste but it wasn't.

I understand you can buy VFR factory bars and put them on for a much higher lift. But they don't look the same at all.

http://www.cyclesolutions.net/index....1&item=GM-H113

Old 09-23-2009, 09:53 AM

Others should keep in mind that you can get the same effect, before shelling out the $100 or so, by simply raising your bars on the fork tubes by 3'4" and riding around like that to see if the rise is enough to justify the expense. I did this when I first got my bike, with no problems. Ultimately, the rise wasn't enough for me so I passed on the GenMars. I finally found a used pair of Telefix Profi adjustable bars on ebay for about the same price of new GenMars, and I love them. I'm running about a 4" rise over stock at the bar ends, using the stock cables, and this takes all the weight off my wrists while riding.

Old 10-03-2009, 10:06 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

JHouse, If you start to hear a clinking sound up front and you can't chase the noise down, pull those cursed chrome dust covers out of the GenMar risers and make them fit tighter.

They drove me nuts finding the noise. They only do it over bumps. I would beat on the bike with a rubber mallet and nothing would clink. As soon as I would go down the road, those damn things would clink on the smallest of bumps. Good-lord they drove me nuts finding the noise source. It echos off the wind screen only when riding.